Tuesday, December 31, 2013

2013 - year in review

There were some great things about 2013 and there were some not as great things about 2013 but overall, I cannot complain.

I started a new job in Jan 2013. I love it! I love the job, the people and the company. I had parted ways with a previous employer and was kinda bummed cuz it was a pretty bad experience but going through that just made me appreciate where I am now that much more. I know I am lucky and blessed and trust me - I thank God every single day cuz I have a job when thousands do not. Plus my first work trip was to the Poconos so yeah, pretty sweet.

I spent a lot of time in MSP for work the first half of this year. I was starting to think it NEVER STOPS SNOWING THERE!! I got stuck at the airport in the middle of April because a snow storm had hit and planes were grounded. You could tell who was not from MN because we were all taking pics :) I have never seen a "white out" before...and now that I have, I'm all set. No need to see any more! I spent my 40th bday in MN..in a hotel room - actually "hotel" is too nice a term..it was a XX Inn & Suites...had a jacuzzi in the room (one word: COOTIES)...by myself feeling miserable..but my co-workers made me go out with them the next day and we ate at a great French restaurant in St. Paul and did some serious drinking. It was fun. Glad they made me go out. All 3 of us were kinda hurtin the next day but at least I drank a lot of water so I wasnt so bad. When you are in professional services for a software company, you bond by going out drinking. haha We bonded...jager bombs were involved. On the advice of my attorney, that is all I will say ;-)

I was in a wreck in May, rear ended by a chick who had plenty of room to miss me but was probably on her phone. At any rate, I got a mild concussion and some truly heinous headaches and other various treats that went on until late October when I had to have emergency surgery. Turns out, I had some very serious damage in my cervical spine. It is fixed now and feel much better. Still a little sore but that will go away in time. Chronic pain is awful. People that have to live with it for years...I don't know how they do it. I barely did it for the few months I had to but I guess you just figure out how to get by which is exactly what I did. I have had plenty of migraines in my day but I have NEVER experienced the level of pain I did from this stupid wench rear ending me. I had to work laying on my couch cuz if I moved too much, I got dizzy, would almost faint and puke. I threw up at least once a day for months - from pain. It was insane. My arm felt like it was on fire and my fingers were starting to twitch and lock up. Turrible. But again, I am very lucky and blessed because surgery fixed it and now I have no burning in my arm at all and go several days in a row with no headaches. It is almost like I did not realize how much pain I was really dealing with until it went away. For anyone who is experiencing what I did...my heart goes out to you and I hope you, too, can get fixed and live w/out pain.

This summer, E & I went on a little trip up to the Northeast for goalie camp and a short girls vacation. We had a lot of fun, got to go to the beach almost every day although the water was COLD, got to visit with a friend I've known since 8th grade, E & I went to have dinner with his parents cuz they are super people and I consider them to be family so was nice to visit with them and we got to stay at Hotel Bethlehem in PA (it is allegedly haunted) and take a nice little tour of the town. Our tour guide was a really nice lady who works at a division III school in Lehigh Valley and she gave me some really good information about D III schools/sports vs D I schools/sports. I also have a whole new area to look for colleges for E so she can play hockey. And of course we went by Wells Fargo center and the Flyers bar near the arena so E could "be with her people". We took some cool pics even though we did not get to go in WFC. I still owe her a Flyers game at WFC so hopefully can get that done in 2014.

E loved doing the goalie camp up north. She did very well. On the last day, she was the only goalie to not let any goals in during the scrimmage and shootout. The coach she had was great and he was able to shed some light on prep schools and sports. He also has some contacts for girls who are currently playing college hockey. E wants to go back to girls hockey and she needs to if she is going to try to play in college. I have no idea what I am gonna do for next season yet but I have been financially preparing for travel hockey again so if she can make the team here, great. If she does not play here, she would have to go somewhere else and play. I am still looking into prep schools for her (for academics, not hockey...hockey is a bonus) but as of now, I really have no idea what our plan is but will have it figured out pretty soon. I'll likely have her tryout for at least 2-3 diff teams and see what happens. I think we are both hesitant about prep school but it might be the best situation if it can be made affordable. I have already made several great contacts and she's been interviewed by one school that I really liked so we'll see. The options seem overwhelming at times but it'll all work out. I am lucky to have a good friend who has looked into many of the same options for her daughter so that has been very helpful. I intend to pick her brain some more very soon!

Joezilla turned 20 this year. TWENTY. He is no longer a teenager. He has been working at the same place for almost a year and intends to start school (finally!) this spring. I let him take a year off (in hindsight, bad idea) after he graduated high school in 2012 but now it is time to get serious about what he is going to do with his life. I am 'helping' him by putting down a deadline...if he isnt in school and/or working full-time by his 21st bday, I will decide his life path and it will be the US Army. :) Amazing what kids can do when properly motivated....although I think the Army would be good for him, he is not terribly thrilled with the idea. He is growing up and has so much potential. He is very smart and creative...I know he will do big things. I first knew true unconditional love when I had Joe. He is my first/oldest child and it will always be a special bond that I have with him.

E started high school in August. My baby...in high school. I'm in the home stretch now. It is exciting but it also scares the shit out of me. I've been a parent my entire adult life. I will always be a parent but the every day stuff will be winding down in the next few short years. I will be...an empty nester. OMG. *breathing into bag* no, really..it is fine...no big deal *turning blue* I can handle it.... no problem. haha It is cool to see your kids grow up and be their own person, I just wish it would not have flown by so fast. In 2014, Joezilla will be 21 (TWENTY-ONE!!!) and E will be 16 and driving. While I am a bit freaked out about the whole empty nest thing, I am so proud of them both. They were good kids and they are now good people. They were challenging at times but all kids are, just part of growing up.

E got her first boyfriend in 2013. They played hockey together last season. Good kid. They are young so nothing crazy serious but it is cute to witness puppy love. She had several firsts this year - first boyfriend, first kiss, first homecoming dance - which was also kind of their first "date" since they went together. He has met her family, she has met his. It seems to be the full boyfriend/girlfriend experience...well an age appropriate one anyway and that is how it should stay. Like I said though, good kid..and so is she so all good. I can't say I was really ready for the "boyfriend" thing but I also knew it was inevitable. I won't lie, I cried like a fool after I dropped her off for the homecoming dance. She was so grown up looking and just beautiful. She is not a little girl anymore. It is a bitter sweet situation for sure.

For my personal life in 2013...well it was a bit of a roller coaster at times. It does not need to be a roller coaster though and I think for 2014 I will take more control of life and also accept some things for what they really are, not what I want them to be. I know this sounds quite cryptic but it makes sense to me. I do not want to put certain personal details out in the open, that is not me. I am not an open book. I'll share a few chapters but the entire book is restricted territory. I will say that I think I need to read 'He's Just Not That Into You' again. The message seems pretty applicable and I need a few reminders. I will also be real and say I'm not exactly the most socially graceful person. Shocker, I know. I can do professional relationships and I can do friendships but as I get older I find it harder to navigate "RELATIONSHIPS". I don't play games and I hate drama. I'm not high maintenance nor am I a 'diva'. I am loyal, honest, reliable and have a world class smart mouth hahaha Are these things not appealing?! :) I also like pina coladas and gettin caught in the rain...I am not into yoga and I have half a brain. hahaha Sorry, could not resist...too easy. In all seriousness though, I have some great people in my life and I value all of them. I need to be better at letting those important to me know that they are important and making more effort to spend time with the people I want to spend time with..if I can do that, I think I will be doing pretty good :) It will be reciprocated or it won't. Life goes on.

One of the greatest things for 2013 is that my oldest niece found out she is pregnant with twins! This is pretty much a miracle. She's had some issues and gone through a lot of difficult things so really, these babies are a miracle for her and the whole family. I could not be happier for her and her husband. More importantly, I cannot wait to meet my new great-niece and nephew! I think they will be what brings us all back together and close again. I look forward to it :)

I think that about does it. A year from today, I can look back on this post and see what changed and what is the same when I write my 2014 year in review.

A safe, happy, healthy and harmonious 2014 to all!

(see, I did not mention once about how people are sheep, dont think for themselves and managed to put Obama in office a SECOND time despite him being one of the worst presidents EVER! haha Did not even mention it once. I know I am proud of me. LOL)

No comments:

Post a Comment